Kids Holiday High Tea

I love high tea, the more extravagant the location the better!  My good friend and I have our birthdays just 9 days apart and one of my loveliest memories is sharing high tea with her to celebrate.  As we are often living in different cities, these birthday high teas have been few and far between.

This school holidays I thought I would introduce my children to the pleasures of high tea. Gorgeous morsels of sweetness consumed in a luxurious setting.  I had planned to drive them to Sydney for the day and live it up high tea style.

As often the case when you have kids, “things” get in the way of the best laid plans. We didn’t make it to Sydney but instead had our own little high tea at home.  Out came Gran’s china, champagne flutes for lemonade, and the best cutlery.

The kids loved this experience as much as I did.  I think a lot of my pleasure came from cooking their favourite treats and seeing their faces light up when they were all together on one stand 🙂

A big thank you goes to my friend Trish who dropped off some Frozen Mars Bar Mousse to enhance our dining pleasure!

On the menu:

Vanilla Cupcakes with Dark Chocolate Frosting and “jewels”***

Giant Freckles (purchased)

Frozen Mars Bar Mousse

Scones (lemonade variety) with Jam and Cream

Mini Pork and Fennel Sausage Rolls

Chicken and Mayo Finger Sandwiches

*** The jewels on the cupcakes were my first attempt at playing with Isomalt.  Easier to handle than I expected and will have another go very soon! Will keep you posted on how I go!

One thought on “Kids Holiday High Tea

Leave a Reply

