Chocolate time

Easter is fast approaching and this year it will be chocolate filled for my family!  After spending the last 3 years in Texas we REALLY missed our genuine Cadbury’s Easter Eggs.

This cake is a chocolate mud cake filled and covered with vanilla bean butter cream.  A quick drizzle with some chocolate ganache and we have a lovely drip cake.

Drip cakes have been crazy popular recently so I thought I’d top it with another craze that has been long lasting, geodes.  I saw a video last week of some amazing chocolate eggs in which sugar crystals (geodes) were grown inside them  They were made by 2 students, Alex & Abby, from the Culinary Institute of America.  The process took about 6 months to complete.  Check it out here.

I have made a geode cake before so decided to apply that technique to an Easter egg.  A lot quicker than the magnificent eggs Alex & Abby created!

I had a stash of Easter eggs in the cupboard, so decided to see what they’d look like on top of the drip cake as well.  I actually think I like the simplicity of this version better.

I will be making a variation on another cake craze next week, the unicorn cake.  Again, it will be Easter themed.  I’ll keep you all updated via Facebook and Instagram.

One thought on “Chocolate time

Leave a Reply

